Day 13 – San Diego to Calabasas, CA

23 July 2014

I spent more time than I thought I would in San Diego, and it was definitely time to continue the trip.  Today I made my way up to Calabasas, which is just north of Malibu.

The ride up, mostly via historic 101 and California State Route 1 had some great views of the Pacific.

image

Rolling through Marina del Rey, Venice Beach, and Santa Monica brought back some memories. I lived in Marina del Rey back in 2006-2007, and I remembered it as a place with great weather, views, and food. The weather up this way was definitely perfect. Sunny, clear skies, great visibility, perfect temperature. I think the only things stopping me from moving out here are the taxes and higher prices on everything. I would have never been able to afford life in Marina del Rey if my employer at the time had not been paying directly for my lodging.

image

I encountered a bit more traffic than I had anticipated once I hit SR 1, so my clutch hand is out of commission. I’m drinking lots of water, popping the ibuprofin, and picked up some bananas for tomorrow morning.

I ran into an old friend from high school out here and caught up over dinner at Marmalade Cafe. Decent food. We had been trying to get into two different sushi places, but both had half hour waits. On a Wednesday night. I’ll wait for my friend’s review of them and hit them next time.

Tomorrow I’ll be heading up the PCH. Not sure how far I’ll make it, but I’d expect that by the following day I’ll be starting east towards the east coast.

Leave a comment